RSS Feed

Baked Apple

This is definitely tasty. It’s healthy enough for breakfast but sweet enough as a dessert as well. I tried this out with oatmeal and it was great. Couple that with Eggs Benedict and my husband’s tongue was elated and his belly stuffed.
Not the best picture.

I found this recipe floating around on Pinterest and was taken to HollyandRose blog. Below I included, from her website, a better picture of this delicious dessert… I mean breakfast.

(picture from HollyandRose blog)

The recipe follows:

Baked Apples

Ingredients:

2 red delicious apples (I used whatever apple I had on hand)
2 tsp brown sugar
2 tsp butter
A dash of cinnamon (ha-like 10 dashes)
2 tbsp walnuts, chopped
4 tbsp water
Tool: apple corer (I don’t have one so I just used a paring knife to cut out the guts and my apple broke into two halves. No big deal.)

Directions:

1. Place walnuts on a small baking sheet and bake in the oven at 350°C for 5 minutes or until lightly toasted. Remove from oven and set aside.

2. Peel and core apples placing them on the same baking sheet. Combine melted butter, cinnamon and brown sugar with walnuts. Fill the centre of each apple with the mixture. Add water to the bottom of the baking sheet. Place in the oven at 350°C for 30 minutes or until soft.

(I don’t really like buying special tools to make one recipe so I just adapted it to what I had on hand. Because my apples were broken into two halves, I used some ramekins to pin the apple together on a small baking sheet and then added the water. They turned out just dandy.)

I served it on top of bowl of already prepared oatmeal and it was deliciously sweet breakfast.

Good Luck!


About believerbites

I'm a stay at home mom that knew very little about cooking and baking prior to being married a few years ago. Now, I love to be in the kitchen creating 'works of art' for your palate and sharing what I've found with whoever is interested. I'm not a fan of mushrooms, overly sweet treats, black licorice or strange cheese. My husband attributes my love for experimenting in the kitchen with my background in Biology and Chemistry. Maybe he's right (shh!), he usually is. Happy Cooking!

2 responses »

  1. So happy you tested and – most importantly – enjoyed this baked apple recipe!!! It’s a very quick and guilt-free dessert/brekky I bake very often during the colder months of the year! Happy cooking xx Holly

    Reply
    • Thank you for posting it on your blog and finding it on mine. I like to bake all year ’round and sure is nice to have a guilt-less food option. However, I never feel guilty when eating, I just love it! Take care and enjoy the Easter weekend.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

