Eggs Benedict and Hollandaise Sauce

This post is inspired by my FIL Dale. I would have not known Eggs Benedict without you. Thank you.
Love,
Your DIL Heather (and my waistline)

Before my FIL ever voiced his love for Eggs Benedict, I had seen the movie ‘Julie & Julia’ and recall when Julie had said, “Whipped into submission” referring to the Hollandaise sauce. Also, I remember how Amy Adams just melted when she took her first bite (of her first egg; too bad all other egg recipes go down hill from there sweetheart). You will experience the same reaction with this recipe–the melting part.

I’ve tried to poach an egg the traditional way: slipping an egg into boiling water to just end up with milky water, something that resembles a jellyfish, and the uncertainty if it’s finished. Well, no more. I found a wonderful new way to poach an egg without all that hassle and uncertainty. The website that brought you the Baked Apple, also brings you The Perfect Poached Egg.

Poached egg, Hollandaise sauce, fry up (or microwave) some bacon, and serve on an english muffin or toast with salt and pepper. Soooo delicious!
Caution: Hollandaise sauce is very fatty! Worth every calorie!

The Perfect Poached Egg Method
From: HollyandRose

Ingredients:

Eggs, as required.
Olive Oil (I used cooking spray)
Water

Tools:
Glad Wrap / Saran Wrap
1 ‘Traditional’ Tea Cup (I used a coffee mug)
1 Saucepan
A Clock or your iPhone as a stopwatch
Twist ties (As many as you have eggs to poach)

Directions:

1. Lay the glad wrap into your small tea cup (or coffee mug) to create a little pocket in the middle with about 4-5 inches of wrap around the cup. Drop a dollop of olive oil (or cooking spray) into the center and slide it around the little pocket (so the egg will easily slide out when ready).

2. Crack the egg into the middle of your pocket.

3. Twist the wrap together at the top leaving the egg resting in the pocket. Do not twist too tight so the pocket pops! Tie each individual pocket with a twist tie.

4. VERY lightly drop the pockets in boiling water making sure the twisted pockets are securely sealed.

5. Allow the eggs to cook in the lightly boiling water for 3-4 minutes depending on how running you like your eggs then lift out of the water and very carefully untwist the pockets allowing the eggs to slip out. (3.5 minutes cooking time is usually perfect for me just so long as the entire egg has been submerged in water the entire time).

And there you have it – Hassle free poached eggs that impress me every time!

Hollandaise Sauce
From: Tyler Florence via The Food Network 

Ingredients:

  • 4 egg yolks
  • 1 tablespoon freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted (1 stick) (I have salted butter, just omit the salt.)
  • Pinch cayenne
  • Pinch salt

Directions:

1.Vigorously whisk the egg yolks and lemon juice together in a stainless steel bowl and until the mixture is thickened and doubled in volume.

2. Place the bowl over a saucepan containing barely simmering water (or use a double boiler,) the water should not touch the bottom of the bowl. Continue to whisk rapidly. Be careful not to let the eggs get too hot or they will scramble.

3. Slowly drizzle in the melted butter and continue to whisk until the sauce is thickened and doubled in volume. (I haven’t been whisking long enough for the multiple times that i have made this recipe; which until you can make a ‘rose’ shape when you blow on the sauce. I wouldn’t suggest this method if you don’t know the person you are serving this too. ;))

4. Remove from heat, whisk in cayenne and salt.

5. Cover and place in a warm spot until ready to use for the eggs benedict. If the sauce gets too thick, whisk in a few drops of warm water before serving.

About believerbites

I'm a stay at home mom that knew very little about cooking and baking prior to being married a few years ago. Now, I love to be in the kitchen creating 'works of art' for your palate and sharing what I've found with whoever is interested. I'm not a fan of mushrooms, overly sweet treats, black licorice or strange cheese. My husband attributes my love for experimenting in the kitchen with my background in Biology and Chemistry. Maybe he's right (shh!), he usually is. Happy Cooking!

2 responses »

  1. heatherq.line

    Yay for us! Kind of excited about this! Have you gotten the recipe for Terry’s lumpia and/or fried rice?? Just wondering…you’re a genius!

    Reply
    • I have recently “friended” Terri on FB but have not had the chance to ask about her recipes; have to have my request accepted first ;). I’m quite excited to do this, it’s kind of addicting. Terri’s fried rice and lumpia are on my list though. Thanks for visiting 🙂 hope you enjoy the recipes. I’m a bit of a picky eater (not in an annoying way) when it comes to food, because I like GOOD food. So, you’ll only get good recipes not creamed spinach or something like that. 🙂 take care.

      Reply

Leave a comment